Barzanji at a Muslim Wedding

I’m glad that my journey in writing this piece about mawlid barzanji, has actually enriched my knowledge in my faith.  

The month my brother got married I was excited and  looking forward to my mother and aunts and the whole women of the village to recite a poetic biography of the Holy Prophet Sall’Allahu ‘alaihi wa Sallam with his birth as its main theme.

Mom is seen here in yellow baju kurung

They gathered at my house the morning before the wedding feast and recited the verses. It was breath taking actually.  

Click  below to view the video recording of this event :

Barzanji

by Hajah Marfo’a Banioo & the village women of Kg Parit Tegak, Parit Sulong, Batu Pahat Johor 

 More readings on mawlid barzanji may be found at the below links:

http://www.infinitelight.org/content/view/871/12/

 

1 Comment

Filed under Malaysian Celebrations

One response to “Barzanji at a Muslim Wedding

  1. Pingback: My Mom on Astro Oasis Channel 106 « Pojok Fay

Leave a Reply

